Silvernagle rink win second straight provincial Scotties title

Photo Courtesy of Anil Mungal Robyn Silvernagle, Stefanie Lawton, Jesse Hunkin and Kara Thevenot will represent Saskatchewan at the 2020 Scotties Tournament of Hearts in Moose Jaw.

Robyn Silvernagle will have a chance to represent Saskatchewan in her home province next month.

Her North Battleford rink, which includes third Stefanie Lawton, second Jesse Hunkin and lead Kara Thevenot of Prince Albert, won their second straight Viterra Scotties on Tuesday with an 8-5 win over Sherry Anderson’s Saskatoon rink in Melville.

With the victory, Silvernagle’s team will now compete at the 2020 Scotties Tournament of Hearts, which will take place in Moose Jaw from Feb. 15-23 at Mosaic Place.

“I think it’s just starting to sink in,” Silvernagle said shortly after the game. “The first win is always the sweetest, especially after losing in the final for two straight years, but we wanted this one badly as it was our goal to return to the Scotties at the start of the season.

“It’s going to be amazing to be the home team. The support that we got while playing in the Grand Slam events in North Battleford and Saskatoon last year was unreal and I can only imagine what it’s going to be like at the Scotties.”

The Silvernagle rink went a perfect 5-0 in the triple knockout format, as they defeated Shalon Fleming of Regina, Penny Barker of Moose Jaw and Michelle Englot of Regina to win the ‘A’ event.

They would then defeat Ashley Howard’s Saskatoon squad in a 7-6 affair in the 1 vs. 2 game on Monday to earn a spot in the final.

Anderson, who topped Silvernagle in the 2018 provincial final but came out on the losing end of their 2019 rematch, reached the championship contest after a 10-2 win over Barker in the 3 vs. 4 game and a 7-5 triumph over Howard in the semifinal on Tuesday morning.

Silvernagle and her teammates are now waiting to find out which pool they will be placed in for the Scotties, as the last four provincial playdowns will wrap up this weekend in British Columbia, Manitoba, Northern Ontario and Ontario.