Rings capture Northern Team Championship

Lucas Punkari/Daily Herald Martin Ring, left, and his son Trevor became the third winners of the Northern Team Championship at Cooke Municipal Golf Course on Sunday afternoon.

While his dad Martin was able to get a few practice rounds in ahead of this weekend’s Northern Team Championship, Trevor Ring was nowhere near Cooke Municipal Golf Course.

“I was out battling the (Cloverdale) forest fire all week so I hadn’t even been to the course since last Friday,” Trevor said.

“I definitely came into the tournament a little bit blind and fatigued after what’s been a long week.”

Trevor and his dad showed no rust in the opening round on Saturday as they shot a round of 59 and followed that up with a round of 64 on Sunday to win the championship flight by four strokes over Jay Ahenakew and Dean Gerard.

“We certainly had a strong start yesterday,” Martin said. “Trevor drove the ball extremely well to put us in great positions and we made a lot of putts to build up a bit of a lead going into today.

“My dad gave me the green light off the tee on Saturday and he didn’t find any hairy spots on Sunday, which allowed me to swing free from the tee.”

Unlike many of the other major tournaments that take place in the area during the summer, there was a more relaxed atmosphere at the end of Sunday’s final round as fellow competitors shot friendly barbs at the Rings’ playing partners Ashley Ziegeman and Greg Swenson.

“There’s a bit of a peanut gallery but that’s because everyone here is so close,” Trevor said. “We got guys here from Regina and Saskatoon this weekend and everyone’s having a fun time.”

There was a tinge of sadness around the event, however, as the Cooke Municipal Golf Course was mourning the recent passing of longtime member Ron Harris.

“Everyone was wearing green ribbons on their hats in honour of Ron this weekend,” Martin said. “This tournament was in memory of him and it’s a reminder to us all that there’s more to life.”

The other flight winners from the Northern Team Championship are as follows:

  • First Flight: Randy Robb/Kevin Adams
  • Second Flight: Darren Jenkins/Cole Jenkins
  • Third Flight: Donna Morin/Dave Morin and Jason McComas/Tian Rask
  • Fourth Flight: Jason MacAuley/Tim Braaten
  • Fifth Flight: Chris Beres/Mike Sommervile