Province to consolidate health regions

Jason Kerr/Daily Herald. Patients heading to the Victoria Hospital emergency department with non-life threatening injuries could face a few delays as staff deals with a backlog of visitors.

The Government of Saskatchewan announced today it would accept all the recommendations made by the Saskatchewan Advisory Panel on Health System Structure, consolidating the 12 existing Regional Health Authorities into a single provincial authority.

The new system will have four service integration areas. The north will contain Keewatin Yatthe and Mamawetan Churchill. The Athabasca Health Authority will remain as structured.

The other three service integration areas are to be determined, but will “reflect existing and appropriate care seeking patterns, particularly with respect to acute and specialized care,” the report said.

The new provincial health authority will also explore opportunities to consolidate and integrate diagnostic services, tertiary acute care services, and the planning, dispatch and delivery of EMS.

The health ministry is already working towards implementing the new structure and hopes to have it in place as early as fall 2017.

More to come.