Selander captures first Men’s Northern title

Daily Herald File Photo Cory Selander watches his putt during the 2019 Men’s Northern final at the Cooke Municipal Golf Course last August. Cooke’s opening date for the 2020 season has yet to be determined.

Cory Selander is now alongside his dad Cliff in the record books as a winner of the Men’s Northern tournament.

The Prince Albert golfer was the victor in the championship flight of the 98th edition of the event after he defeated Ashley Ziegeman in Monday’s final at the Cooke Municipal Golf Course.

“My dad (who also served as Cory’s caddy in the final) won this in 1990 (over Brian Bamford) so it’s extra special to win it as well,” Selander said. “I’ve been playing here at Cooke for about a decade now and this is a tournament that’s always great to play in.

“I haven’t been in a lot of tournaments this summer after playing down college golf down south (for the Pfeiffer Falcons in Misenheimer, N.C.) over the last few years. I was able to win the club championship here a few weeks ago so this was a nice way to top off the year.”

Selander, who defeated Jordan Banilevic, Trevor Ring and Jaret Nelson to reach the final, got things started on the right foot as he made a lengthy birdie putt on the opening hole.

“I’m sure Ashley would tell you that he wasn’t expecting me to make that one,” Selander said.

“It wasn’t an easy putt to make but I felt like I was able to set the tone of the match at that point and I was able to keep things in the right direction.”

Selander kept his momentum up through the rest of the match as he was four up on Ziegeman after six holes.

Ziegeman was able to close in by the time the front nine was finished but Selander pulled away again and clinched the title when Ziegeman conceded the 14th hole.

“He was two up after three holes and then I missed a little putt on four that would have won me the hole,” Ziegeman said. “If I had made that putt, I think it would have been more of a match as it was probably a little bit boring for the spectators when Cory got out in front by four.

“He wasn’t making any mistakes out there and it was going to be tough to beat him with how well he played this weekend.”

A winner of the event in 2003 over Luke Sheard, Ziegeman defeated Ewlin Cameron, Shaun Strelau and Greg Swenson to reach the championship flight final for the first time since 2012, when he lost to Colin Coben.

“Obviously, it wasn’t the way I wanted things to go, but it was still a great weekend and it was nice to have everyone come out and support our hometown tournament,” Ziegeman said.

“The opening round on Saturday is one of the hardest that you’ll play in all year as you want to qualify for the championship flight and have a chance to play for the title. It was nice to be a couple of shots under par there and I was able to play well all weekend.”

Bryan Matowski took home the championship consolation flight title over last year’s championship flight winner Cory Sawchuk.

The complete results from Monday’s final rounds are listed below:

  • First Flight: Leighton Bearchell over Travis Fehr
  • First Flight Consolation: Josh Guthrie over Owen Morgan
  • Second Flight: Dean Prosky over Ron Stewart
  • Second Flight Consolation: Kyle Schneider over Milt Grolla
  • Third Flight: Noah Parent over Clay Mullis
  • Third Flight Consolation: Brent Dubray over Jeff McKeand
  • Fourth Flight: Tyler Benoit over Jonathan MacTinger
  • Fourth Flight Consolation: Jordan Biggins over Barry Nelson
  • Fifth Flight: Tim Reid over Dustin Rhoades
  • Fifth Flight Consolation: Jesse Bannerman over James Halliday
  • Sixth Flight: Brady Keller over Randy Boscher
  • Sixth Flight Consolation: Jason Burnell over Richard Skopyk