Scott named CHL goalie of the year

Vincent Ethier/CHL Images Ian Scott stands next to the CHL’s Goaltender of the Year award that he received on Saturday in Halifax.

Ian Scott has another trophy to add his mantelpiece after an excellent 2018-19 campaign.

The Prince Albert Raiders netminder became the first player in team history to be named as the Canadian Hockey League’s Goaltender of the Year on Saturday during a ceremony that was held as part of the Memorial Cup in Halifax.

“It’s a pretty special honour,” Scott said to the Western Hockey League’s Taylor Rocca following the event. “When you see some of the names that have received the award in the past, it’s pretty humbling just to be considered with them.”

The 20-year-old from Calgary enjoyed a career year with the WHL champions, as he had a 38-8-3 regular season record with a 1.83 goals against average, a .932 save percentage and eight shutouts.

He also became the eighth netminder to score a goal in WHL history during a 3-1 home win over the Tri-City Americans on Nov. 16.

Scott kept up his impressive form in the playoffs as he put together a 16-7 record with a 1.96 goals against average, a .925 save percentage and five shutouts on his way to becoming the first goalie to be named WHL playoff MVP since 2012.

“Obviously the Memorial Cup didn’t end up going like we would have hoped, but we have a lot to be proud of this year,” Scott said.

“The experiences that we went through as a team is something we will remember for the rest of our lives and the fan support we got from Prince Albert is something that will be ingrained in the community for years to come.”

Scott also got to play for Canada at the World Juniors and signed an entry level contract with the Toronto Maple Leafs, who selected him in the fourth round of the 2017 NHL Draft.

Ukko-Pekka Luukkonen of the OHL’s Sudbury Wolves and Samuel Harvey of the QMJHL’s Rouyn-Noranda Huskies were the other finalists for the award.

Raiders head coach Marc Habscheid was a finalist for the Brian Kilrea Coach of the Year Award but lost out to Mario Pouliot of the Huskies.

Andre Tourigny of the OHL’s Ottawa 67’s was the other nominee for the award.

The other award winners were as follows:

  • Player of the Year: Alexis Lafreniere (Rimouski Oceanic)
  • Defenceman of the Year: Ty Smith (Spokane Chiefs)
  • Rookie of the Year: Quinton Byfield (Sudbury Wolves)
  • Scholastic Player of the Year: Dustin Wolf (Everett Silvertips)
  • Humanitarian of the Year: Charles-Edouard D’Astous (Rimouski Oceanic)
  • Sportsman of the Year: Justin Almeida (Moose Jaw Warriors)
  • Top Scorer Award: Jason Robertson (Niagara IceDogs)
  • Top Prospect Award: Bowen Byram (Vancouver Giants)