Schneider confirmed for Team Canada

Photo Courtesy of Keith Hershmiller/WHL Prince Albert's Braden Schneider served as the captain for the Brandon Wheat Kings during the 2020-21 season.

The next stop for Prince Albert’s Braden Schneider during his busy 2020-21 hockey season will be Riga, Latvia.

Hockey Canada officially announced on Friday that the 19-year-old blueliner will part of Canada’s roster for the IIHF World Championship, which will run from May 21 to June 6.

Schneider is coming off of a 27-point performance in the Regina hub during his fourth season with the Brandon Wheat Kings, which saw him serve as the team’s captain.

The New York Rangers prospect also played in two American Hockey League games for the Hartford Wolf Pack and had three points in six games for Canada’s silver-medal winning side at the World Juniors.

This marks the fifth time Schneider will suit up for the national team, as he’s played for Canada at the World Under-17 Hockey Challenge, the Hlinka Gretzky Cup and the World Under-18 Hockey Championship.

Canada’s full roster for the tournament, which they last won in 2016, is as follows:


  • Michael DiPietro (Utica Comets)
  • Adin Hill (Arizona Coyotes)
  • Darcy Kuemper (Arizona Coyotes)


  • Nicolas Beaudin (Chicago Blackhawks)
  • Jacob Bernard-Docker (Ottawa Senators)
  • Mario Ferraro (San Jose Sharks)
  • Colin Miller (Buffalo Sabres)
  • Owen Power (Michigan Wolverines – Projected to be the first overall pick in this summer’s NHL Draft)
  • Braden Schneider (Brandon Wheat Kings)
  • Troy Stetcher (Detroit Red Wings)
  • Sean Walker (Los Angeles Kings)


  • Jaret Anderson-Dolan (Los Angeles Kings)
  • Connor Brown (Ottawa Senators)
  • Michael Bunting (Arizona Coyotes)
  • Maxime Comtois (Anaheim Ducks)
  • Justin Danforth (HC Vityaz Podolsk – Has signed a contract with the Columbus Blue Jackets for next season)
  • Dillon Dube (Calgary Flames)
  • Liam Foudy (Columbus Blue Jackets)
  • Brandon Hagel (Chicago Blackhawks)
  • Adam Henrique (Anaheim Ducks)
  • Andrew Mangiapane (Calgary Flames)
  • Nick Paul (Ottawa Senators)
  • Cole Perfetti (Manitoba Moose/Saginaw Spirit)
  • Brandon Pirri (Chicago Blackhawks)
  • Gabriel Vilardi (Los Angeles Kings)