McDougall and Ziegeman capture City Open crowns

Lucas Punkari/Daily Herald Ashley Ziegeman and Pauline McDougall celebrate after winning the City Open tournament at the Cooke Municipal Course Monday.

A pair of familiar faces were at the top of the leaderboard in the men’s and ladies’ divisions following the conclusion of the 2018 City Open Monday at the Cooke Municipal Golf Course.

Ashley Ziegeman took home the men’s title by six shots over Trevor Ring after three rounds of play, while Pauline McDougall had the low gross score of 237 to win the ladies’ trophy.

“I’m not sure how many titles that is now, but I think it’s around 10 at least,” McDougall said. “I was able to win the May Day tournament this year here and I did well at the Ladies’ Lobstick at Waskesiu last week (where she made the semifinal in the Championship flight) so I’m pretty happy with how the year has gone.”

“I’m absolutely nowhere close to Pauline, but I’ve been fortunate enough to win here four times now,” Ziegeman added. “I didn’t golf a lot this year but I tried to stay calm out on the course and that seemed to pay off.”

Ziegeman was able to shoot under par for the weekend and finished off the tournament with a one-under round of 70 to capture the championship.

“I felt pretty good going into the first round and I was able to achieve my goal of shooting under par,” Ziegeman said.

“I had a couple of bogeys right off the bat to start things off today, which rattled me a little bit, but I was able get a couple of birdies and I played a pretty steady round after that.”

Meanwhile, McDougall has some pressure during the final round from Arlene Segin, who ended up having the low net score of the weekend at 209.

“Arlene played a really good front nine today but she had a little bit of a stumble on the back nine, and I was able to keep things going in the right direction,” McDougall said.

“Things went pretty well all weekend long. There were some tough pin placements in the first two rounds, but I was able to make some good shots and it all worked out in the end.”

The other flight winners on Monday are listed below:

  • First Flight: Travis Jenkins and Shaun Strelau
  • Second Flight: Tom Ross
  • Third Flight: Ron Stewart
  • Fourth Flight: Don Filteau