Raiders nominated for WHL awards

Lucas Punkari/Daily Herald Ian Scott celebrates with his Prince Albert Raiders teammates after a victory over the Swift Current Broncos earlier this month.

The Prince Albert Raiders were recognized for their performance over the course of the 2018-19 season Wednesday as the Western Hockey League announced their finalists for their year-end awards.

Goaltender Ian Scott, who led the WHL in shutouts this season with eight, was the Eastern Conference Goaltender of the Year and will go up against the Everett Silvertips’ Dustin Wolf for the Del Wilson Trophy.

Kenton Rein was a co-winner of the award in 1987 with Dean Cook of the Kamloops Blazers.

Scott was also named to the Eastern Conference First All-Star team, where he was joined by forward Brett Leason.

Defenceman and team captain Brayden Pachal was named to the Eastern Conference Second All-Star team.

As a result of the Raiders’ Scotty Munro Memorial Trophy winning campaign, head coach Marc Habscheid and general manager Curtis Hunt received the Eastern Conference Coach and Executive of the Year awards respectively.

Habscheid is now a finalist for the Dunc McCallum Memorial Trophy, which he won in 2003 as the head coach for the Kelowna Rockets.

Michael Dyck of the Vancouver Giants is the other nominee for the award.

Terry Simpson is the only Raiders bench boss to win the trophy, which he did in 1984 and 1986.

Hunt has a chance to become the first Raiders general manager to win the Lloyd Saunders Memorial Trophy, as he’ll go up against Garry Davidson of the Everett Silvertips.

The finalists for the league’s other major honours, which will be handed out at the year-end banquet on May 1 in Red Deer, are as follows:

  • Four Broncos Memorial Trophy (Player of the Year: Trey Fix-Wolansky (Edmonton) and Joachim Blichfeld (Portland)
  • Bill Hunter Memorial Trophy (Defenceman of the Year): Josh Brook (Moose Jaw) and Ty Smith (Spokane)
  • Jim Piggot Memorial Trophy (Rookie of the Year): Brayden Tracey (Moose Jaw) and Lassi Thomson (Kelowna)
  • Brad Hornung Trophy (Most Sportsmanlike Player): Justin Almeida (Moose Jaw) and Cody Glass (Portland)