Northern Bears name Abby Soyko MVP; Amundson playoffs MVP

Northern Bears forward Abby Soyko led her team this year with five game-winning goals in the regular season and 38 total points. -- Daily Herald File Photo

The Prince Albert Northern Bears selected their top points scorer from this past season as their most valuable player: Forward Abby Soyko tallied 21 goals and 17 assists for 38 points to lead the Midget AAA hockey team through 28 regular season games played.

She also had five game-winning goals on the year.

Soyko was also awarded the team’s top scorer award.

Fellow forward Camryn Amundson won the team’s playoff MVP award, after tallying 13 points through 10 postseason games played; Amundson lead the Bears in playoff goals (8) and playoff points.

The hockey team held its annual awards banquet Saturday night, when it honoured the individual members’ achievements.

Along with her postseason play, Amundson tallied 25 regular season points, courtesy of 11 goals and 14 assists. She was also awarded the league’s most sportsmanlike player award by the Saskatchewan Hockey Association earlier this year; through 28 regular season games, she had only six penalty minutes.

Saskatoon native Kate Ball was awarded the team’s top forward award, while Jordan Ashe and Hannah Koroll each took home top defenceman awards.

Ball was second on the team in playoff points scored (10, courtesy of three goals and seven assists), while notching 25 total points through 28 regular season games played.

Ashe and Koroll were both regular contributors on offence, chipping in 20 and 17 points, respectively, while combining for seven total points in the playoffs.

The pair also helped the Bears to the second-lowest goals allowed stat in regular season play this past season, 55, one more than the first-place Saskatoon Stars.

Fellow defenceman Kailee Peppler won the team’s top rookie award.

Part of the team’s low goals against stat during the regular season was due to goalie Ryan Fontaine: She won the team’s most dedicated player award.

The P.A. native had the lowest goals against average in the league among all goalies (1.70), and the second-highest save percentage (0.925).

Forward Kassidy Kicia was given the team’s hardest working player award, while Saskatoon native Paris Oleksyn won the most improved player award.

Jayden Kushniruk earned the top award for academics.

And defenceman Colby Donald was picked as the Bears’ most sportsmanlike player on the year; through 27 games played, she had just 18 penalty minutes.

The 11 players were part of a Bears squad that battled the Stars all season for first place, switching back and forth throughout, with Saskatoon eventually finishing in first.

The 11 Bears players helped guide the P.A. club to a second-consecutive league final berth against the Stars, after sweeping the Battlefords Sharks 3-0 and then beating the Notre Dame Hounds 4-1 in the first two rounds of postseason play.

The Stars went on to sweep the Bears 3-0 in the league final.