Many new faces on RM councils following elections

The RM of Buckland and RM of Prince Albert Office./Daily Herald File Photo

There were some hotly contested elections for regional Rural Municipalities (RMs) with many new faces claiming Reeve, Division 1, Division 3 and Division 5 seats on councils.

On RM councils surrounding Prince Albert there are new councillors in the RM of Prince Albert and Buckland chosen on Nov. 9. The RM of Prince Albert also re-elected Reeve Eric Schmalz.

Schmalz was re-elected in a competition with former Division 5 councillor Wayne Acorn. Schmalz received 280 votes and Acorn received 75 votes.

In Division 5, where Acorn vacated his seat to run for reeve, Colin Sheldon claimed the seat with 103 votes while Debbie Acorn received 16 votes.

Incumbent councillor Barton Franc was defeated in Division 3 where he lost to Guy St. Hillaire, who received 39 votes, in second place was Allan Novotny who received 30 while Franc received 19 votes.

Division 5, councillor Michael Grassick was re-elected by acclamation.

In the RM of Buckland, the vacant seat in Division 4 will now be filled by Melinda Lavoie who defeated Rene Piche; Lavoie received 47 votes and Piche received 17 votes.
Reeve Don Fyrk, Division 1 councillor Arthur Brandolino, Division 3 councillor Orest Romanchuk and Division 5 councillor Bob From were all elected by acclamation.

Division 4 was vacant after the resignation of Don Lavoie.

In Shellbrook, Christine Strube claimed the seat in Division 3. Strube received 41 votes while her competitor Curtis Bloom received six votes.

Reeve Doug Oleksyn, Division 1 councillor Cliff Skauge and Division 5 councillor Derwin Joelsen were elected by acclamation.

The RM of Big River saw Dana Pettigrew, who has been in conflict over zoning issues with the RM win the Reeve position over incumbent John Teer. Pettigrew received 337 votes while Teer received 136 votes. In Division 3 Jeff Weibe was elected after defeating Devin Block. Weibe received 114 votes and Block received 799 votes. Division 1 councillor Douglas Panter was acclaimed.

The RM of Kinistino saw all positions acclaimed with Reeve Vance Shmyr, Division 1 councillor Lindsay Dupin and Division 5 councillor Garry Grandrude re-elected. Division 3 councillor Mike Harvey is newly re-elected by acclamation.

In the RM of Duck Lake the election was postponed by the snowstorm until Friday, Nov. 13. In Division 1 candidates were Scott Gauthier and Allan Lanovaz. Lanovaz won with 46 votes to Gauthier’s 38.

Reeve Remi Martin and Division 3 councillor Lois McCormick were acclaimed.

In the RM of Birch Hills there is a new reeve after Brent Fenner defeated Alan Evans.

Division 1, councillor Michael Soyland and Division 3 councillor Brad Mitchell were acclaimed.

In the RM of Connaught incumbent Reeve Arthur Lalonde was defeated by Ian Boxall, with Boxall receiving 158 votes and Lalonde 28 votes. Division 1 saw Guy McRea re-elected in a race with Dennis Magnus, in Division 3 Quentin Thibault defeated Leon Perrault and in Division 5 incumbent Bradley Schiltroth was defeated by Lyndon Wrigley.

The RM of Garden River saw Reeve Ryan Scragg, Division 1 councillor Travis Podbielski and Division 3 councillor Ted Boryski acclaimed after first call for nominations. Division 5 councillor Dewell Meyers was elected after a second call for nominations was completed on Oct. 21.

The RM of Nipawin saw Shelly Smits claim Division 3 over Debbie Karle.

Reeve Donna Hoppe and Division 1 councillor Brandon Perkins were re-elected and new Division 5 councillor Ken Skibinski  was newly elected by acclimation.

In the RM of Porcupine all candidates were acclaimed. These included Reeve Steve Kwiatkowski, Division 1 councillor Travis Johnson and Division 3 councillor Andy Galacz, who were re-elected. In Division 5 councillor Mark Nagyl was newly elected.

In Moose Range incumbent reeve Bud Charko was defeated by Wilfred Wolowski. Wolowski received 179 votes and Charko received 134 votes. In Division 1 Roman Charko was defeated by Lyle Quiring with Charko receiving 19 votes and Quiring receiving 39 votes.

Division 3 councillor  Brian Digness and Division 5 councillor Rayan Drury were re-elected by acclamation.

The RM of Paddockwood saw incumbent Division 1 councillor Tom McKnight was defeated by Leslie Blacklock, she received 55 votes and McKnight received 40 votes.

Reeve Lance Fehr, Division 1 councilor Garry Sumlic and Division 3 councillor Lionel Lavoie  were acclaimed.

In the RM of Pleasantdale incumbent Reeve Fred Graham was defeated by Frank Kilborn. In a three way-race Kilborn received 98 votes,  Graham received 97 votes and Joe Wehage received 96 votes. Candidates have 10 days to decide if they wish to have a recount, no recount had been requested by Nov. 12.

Jennifer Bushby claimed the Division 3 seat after defeating Robin Parry.

Division 1 councillor Ernest Pederson and Division 5 councillor Kris Gage were acclaimed.

In the RM of Torch River incumbent Division 1councillor David LaRose defeated Dalton Clifford, LaRose received 17 votes and Clifford received 16 votes. In Division 3 Peter Lubyk was re-elected in a race with Richard Mardell.

Reeve Jerry Kindrat and Division 5 councillor Richard Pickett were acclaimed.

In the RM of Spiritwood Division 1 incumbent Doug Johnson was defeated by Larry Vaagen.

Reeve Shirley Dauvin, Division 3 councillor Terry Wingerter and Division 5 councillor Jerome Tetrault were acclaimed.

In the RM of St. Louis Vincent Denis was elected in a race with Wallace Heroux.

Reeve Emile Boutin, Division 3 councillor Ryan Topping and Division 5 councillor Rene Leblanc were acclaimed.

In the RM of Bjorkdale Reeve Glen Clarke, Division 1 councilor Brett Norum, Division 3 councillor Steven Stewart and Division 5 councillor Andris John were acclaimed.

In the RM of Flett’s Springs acclaimed were Reeve Murray Stevenson, Division 1 councillor Gene Miller, Division 3 councillor Tyler Stevenson is newly elected by acclamation and Division 5 councillor Laurie Taylor.

In the RM of Star City Reeve Robert Miller, Division 1 Garry Skjerpen councillor, Division 3 councillor Mark Hodgson and Division 5 councillor Shawn Mooney were acclaimed.

In the RM of Canwood incumbent Division 1 councillor Ralph Koroby was re-elected in a race with Gordon Skavlebo.

Reeve Lyndon Pease and Division 3 councillor Levi Schutte were acclaimed.

Candidates for the RM of Tisdale were not available for deadline.