Favreau and Friedt-Mohr named to SMAAAHL second all-star team

Daily Herald File Photo Prince Albert Mintos goaltender Joel Favreau keeps an eye on the puck during a scramble against the Saskatoon Blazers.

Two members of the Prince Albert Mintos have been rewarded for their play during the 2019-20 Saskatchewan Midget AAA Hockey League season.

Goaltender Joel Favreau and defenceman Chase Friedt-Mohr were both named to the SMAAAHL’s second all-star team, which were announced as part of the league’s award winners on Monday.

Favreau, who made the jump up to the Mintos after playing in the Midget AA ranks with the Prince Albert Dairy Queen Chill, posted an 18-8 record with a 2.19 goals against average and a .920 save percentage.

He also had three shutouts during his rookie campaign, which put him in a tie with Dylan Ernst (Moose Jaw Warriors), Jackson Fellner (Battlefords Stars) and Drayden Ramage (Regina Pat Canadians) for second place in the league.

Daily Herald File Photo
Prince Albert Mintos blueliner and team captain Chase Friedt-Mohr slows up Regina Pat Canadians forward Kyren Gronick at the Art Hauser Centre earlier this season.

Friedt-Mohr, who is the captain for the Mintos and is a signed prospect of the Western Hockey League’s Spokane Chiefs, led all defenceman in points and was sixth on the team in scoring with 29 points in 38 games.

Joining Favreau and Friedt-Mohr on the second all-star team were Warriors blueliner Wyatt Wilson, Warriors forwards Connor McGrath and Atley Calvert, along with Saskatoon Contacts forward Alex Bernauer.

The first all-star team featured Warriors netminder Chase Coward and blueliners  Logen Hammett (Pat Canadians) and Logan Bairos (Contacts), in addition to forwards Kalen Ukrainetz (Tisdale Trojans), Cal Caragata (Pat Canadians) and Holden Doell (Beardy’s Blackhawks).

The other award winners were as follows:

  • Adam Herold Memorial Award: Logen Hammett (Regina Pat Canadians)
  • Joe Bloski Coach of the Year Award: Trevor Weisgerber (Moose Jaw Warriors)
  • Most Valuable Goaltender: Brett Mirwald (Saskatoon Blazers)
  • Most Valuable Player:  Cal Caragata (Regina Pat Canadians)
  • Rookie of the Year: Cole Duperreault (Beardy’s Blackhawks)
  • Top Defenceman: Logan Hammett (Regina Pat Canadians)
  • Top Forward: Holden Doell (Beardy’s Blackhawks)
  • Top Goals Against Average:  Jared Thompson (Regina Pat Canadians – 1.61 goals against average)
  • Top Scorer: Holden Doell (Beardy’s Blackhawks – 77 points)