‘A wonderful journey’

Clockwise from top left: Top Scorer Abby Soyko, Playoff MVP Hannah Koroll, Top Defenceman and regular season MVP Brooke Hobson, Academic Award winner Kate Wagner, Top Rookie Kate Ball, Most Dedicated player Colby Donald, Most Sportsmanlike player Sierra Parenteau, Hardest Working player Ireland South, Plus/Minus Award winner Jasper Desmarais, Most Improved player Miranda Heidt, Academic Award winner Jadyn Kushniruk and Top Forward Camryn Amundson. (Josef Jacobson/Daily Herald)

Northern Bears wrap up 2016-17 season at annual awards banquet

The 2016-17 Prince Albert Northern Bears season was the team’s best on record. The squad racked up more wins and points and goals than ever before and charged through the playoffs to compete at the national Esso Cup in Morden, Man. for the first time.

On Thursday night the team reassembled for its annual awards banquet to look back on a successful campaign and thank those who made it happen.

“What an amazing year so far. To imagine this would have happened 11 months ago to where we are today, it was such a wonderful journey,” Bears president Robin Wildey said to the crowd of players, parents and volunteers gathered at Carlton Park Hall.

“All of us in this room are liked together by that journey that we’ve traveled all year long. It started in June of last year and it ended in May of this year. That’s one heck of a journey that we’re all connected (to) now for the rest of our lives.”

For more on this story, please read the Prince Albert Daily Herald¹s subscription-based print or e-editions.