Lodewyk signs with Raiders

Photo Courtesy of Byron Hackett/Red Deer Advocate Forward Harrison Lodewyk moves into the offensive zone for the Red Deer Bantam Rebels during a game last season.

The Prince Albert Raiders have landed another player from their 2020 WHL Bantam Draft class.

A week after coming to terms with first round pick Terrell Goldsmith of the Delta Hockey Academy, the Raiders signed second round selection Harrison Lodewyk to a standard player agreement on Wednesday.

“Thank you PA,” Lodewyk tweeted after the news of his contract signing was announced. “It (the Raiders) was one of the teams I hoped I’d be picked by.

“I can’t wait to meet the guys and the coaches. I’ve watched the videos of the championship run (in 2019) and I’m excited to be a part of it soon.”

The forward from Red Deer, Alta. has spent the last two seasons with his hometown Bantam AAA Rebels, where he had 33 points in 31 games last year.

“Harrison’s a guy that we were very excited to get,” Raiders director of player personnel Curt Brownlee said last month. “He’s one of the best skating forwards in the draft and he plays the game at high speed.”

WHL Award Announcements

The first major award recipient for the shortened 2019-20 campaign was announced on Thursday as Brad Lauer became the first Edmonton Oil Kings bench boss to receive the Dunc McCallum Memorial Trophy for coach of the year.

Lauer, who beat out Dennis Williams of the Everett Silvertips for the honours, led the Oil Kings to their second straight Central Division title with a record of 42-12-6-4.

The next major award to be announced will be on Friday as Peter Anholt of the Lethbridge Hurricanes and Matt Bardsley of the Kamloops Blazers will vie for the Lloyd Saunders Memorial Trophy that goes to the executive of the year.

Raiders forward Aliaksei Protas is a finalist for the Brad Hornung Trophy for the league’s most sportsmanlike player, which will be announced next Thursday.

Seth Jarvis of the Portland Winterhawks is the other nominee for that award.