Predators wrap up campaign with year-end banquet

Lucas Punkari/Daily Herald Carson Remy, left, Brandon Tillmanns, Ethan Beaulac, Steven Soyko, Duncan Fetch, Evan Beaulac and Dillan Cochrane all received awards at the Prince Albert Predators year-end banquet Saturday night at Kachur’s Golf Club. Tanner Vancoughnett and Bauer Swystun also received accolades, but were unable to attend the ceremony.

With so many key contributors in their lineup, it was tough for the Prince Albert Predators coaching staff to narrow down one recipient for this year’s most valuable player honours.

As a result, goaltenders Evan Beaulac and Duncan Fetch shared the honours with forward Tanner Vancoughnett during the team’s year-end banquet Saturday, which was held at Kachur’s Golf Club.

“We really played a team game this year,” Predators coach Tyson Fetch said. “It was a lot different than our team from last season and I think that showed with our unblemished record in the regular season.

“When we sat down as a staff, it was clear that we wanted to give the goalies an award and the MVP one made the most sense. We probably also could have included a defensive players as well with how we played.”

Beaulac and Fetch played big parts in helping the team finish in first in the Prairie Gold Lacrosse League’s junior division standings with an 8-0-2 record as the Predators only allowed 64 goals during the regular season.

“It was a little surprising for me that we were both given this award along with Tanner as there were so many guys on our team that were deserving of this award,” Beaulac said. “It’s nice to be recognized though for all of the hard work that we put in as goalies and what we do to help the team out.”

“It’s a real honour to receive this award and we couldn’t have done it without the help of our teammates,” Fetch added. “The defence played so well in front of us and our offence was scoring goals all of the time. Everyone was playing their best from start to finish.”

Vancoughnett, who led the team in scoring with 50 points in 10 games, also received the team’s offensive award and the loose balls trophy.

“We knew he was good at getting the loose balls during games, but it surprised me that he ended up being our top guy for the entire season,” coach Fetch said of Vancoughnett, who was unable to attend the ceremony.

“He was always consistent from game-to-game and I think he at least 10 loose balls every time out.”

The Predators also saluted graduating captain Carson Remy on Saturday as he received the leadership award.

“I’ve been through quite a bit with these guys over the last six years, but these last two seasons stand out with winning the championship in 2018 and being so close to winning it again this season before losing in the final (to the Standing Buffalo Fighting Sioux),” Remy said.

“What I’ll remember the most though is the friendships that I’ve made with the coaching staff and the players. It’s been the time of my life to play for the Predators and I’ll never forget it.”

The other award recipients during Saturday’s banquet were:

  • Inspirational Player: Ethan Beaulac
  • Spirit of Lacrosse: Steven Soyko
  • Defensive Award: Bauer Swystun
  • Most Improved: Dillan Cochrane
  • Rookie of the Year: Bauer Swystun